Archon organisation

Archon activities are organized in close collaboration with, and hosted by its member institutions. In addition, Archon plays a representative role in the academic world of Dutch Archaeology (including commercial Archaeology), namely as part of the MALTA-committee and as a representative in the Central Committee of Experts (CCvD).

Archon bureau
Archon is directed by a board, who meets around four times a year. The educational tasks are delegated to the bureau and the scientific director. As of the 1st of January 2018 the Archon secretariat is established at the Faculty of Humanities of VU University Amsterdam. The secretariat takes care of ‘daily affairs’ and the communication, coordination and organisation of educational activities, and consists of:
Dr. Philip Verhagen, scientific director
Barbara Oosterwijk MA, coordinator

Archon Research School of Archaeology
VU University Amsterdam
Faculty  of Humanities
De Boelelaan 1105, kamer 14A-99
1081 HV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Tel: + 31 (0)20 59 82848

Board of Archon
Prof. Daan Raemaekers, chairman (RUG, professor of European Prehistory).
Prof. Harry Fokkens (UL, professor of European Prehistory)
Prof. Vladimir Stissi (UvA, professor of Mediterranean Archaeology).
Dr. Roel Lauwerier (RCE).
Prof. Nico Roymans (VU, professor of the Westeuropean Archaeology).
Dr. Philip Verhagen (VU, scientific director, assitant professor

Archon Steering Comittee
Barbara Oosterwijk (MA, secretary/coordinator)
Dr. Philip Verhagen (scientific director Archon)
Jill Hillditch (UvA)
Catarina Guzzo Falci (LU, PhD)
Walter Laan (Leiden, Archol)
Prof. Jan Paul Crielaard (VU)
Inge van der Jagt (RCE)
Anna Meens (UvA, PhD)
Francis Koolstra (RUG, RMA student).
Karen de Vries (RUG, PhD)

For questions about organizing a workshop, you can email the Steering Comittee here.